Over at Let’s Loop I have this playlist I call The War On Christmas. It’s a joke. There is no war on Christmas. Feel free to debate that with me. I might respond if your argument isn’t boring.

I’m no longer Christian, but I still enjoy music that is written specifically to celebrate the Winter Solstice and all the trappings of cultural curiosities we humans have attached to the shortest days in the northern hemisphere. Since it’s that time of year again, once more I find myself contemplating all of this silliness. What follows is a YouTube video of a song I included on that playlist, with words I penned while listening to them. I wrote this over at Let’s Loop a year or so ago but I put it here now cuz it suits me. May you have a great whatever you’re celebrating whenever you read this.

I prefer to refer to it as Winter Solstice, at the risk of sounding politically correct. I no longer celebrate Christmas personally, and I never really celebrated Hanukkah, but I’m okay with people who do. I admire and recognize all of human history’s fascination with the shortest day of the year in the northern hemisphere. The astronomical significance of this time is lost on most of us, but it has always been a time of hope for so many. Long ago, fear and uncertainty left many concerned. Would winter ever end? Would we be safe once again? For those who looked to the sky and learned to see the signs, it told them the universe as chaotic as it seemed also held some clock work like order to it, if one only took the time to comprehend. Others would take this order in the chaos and from that extrapolate grand epic tales of gods and monsters, wonders and miracles, curses and blessings, and over time that has evolved to what we celebrate today. How much of it is true and how much of it is fiction, may forever be left to debate, but when times get cold we keep our loved ones warm, and sometimes even complete strangers. For many it is the best time of year, when we strive to be our best selves. I think that is what’s worth celebrating. Peace on Earth, good will to all.

