Consigliere Del Papa said, ‘If what I say can’t be trusted as being truthful in one instance, everything else I say becomes irrelevant.’

I do that all the time. I mean, I don’t mean everything I say. Sometimes I say something cuz I think it’s funny, but I don’t really mean it, but the upshot of this is when I want ppl to know i mean what I say, they don’t. So nothing I say is relevant, and that’s usually fine with me cuz I’m not trying necessarily to be relevant. Usually. However, when it comes to the idea that ‘not all muslims are violent..’ it only takes one. I think that’s relevant. Also, it only takes one mistake in Abrahamic texts to prove the Quran, New Testament, Torah, and any other word that pretends to be “Of God” demonstrably isn’t. There’s countless errors in the alleged words of god, but I can scream that from the rooftops and nobody will take me seriously. So sometimes being demonstrably The Boy Who Cried Wolf isn’t very useful, when the wolves actually start hounding at the door. These thoughts were on my mind when @moinedeisme over on Twitter said “You’ll love this guy then” and introduced me to mywishfortoday.wordpress.com. Birds of a feather and all that. NotAllMuslimsDear

Consigliere Del Papa

I’ve been an atheist for a long time. I’ve come to expect a certain amount of bullshit and pettifoggery from the religious and political conservatives. It comes with the territory. I usually grit my teeth and get on with my day. Occasionally there’s what I call “honest criticism” usually from principled people inside a social group who wish to implement a change benefiting the status of that group. It’s uncomfortable, but worth the time and effort to listen and consider carefully their concerns. It’s how we grow as a civil society. When I’m looking to persuade people to be potential allies, my credibility and trustworthiness is my number one asset. If what I say can’t be trusted as being truthful in one instance, everything else I say becomes irrelevant. It follows that my criticism needs to be a truthful one. My motivation must be from a place of hope for…

View original post 693 more words

