Just when you thought it was safe to enjoy the holiday season, I dug up these wondrously insane and wacky Xmas gifts for you. Share and enjoy.

Geraldine McQueen’s Once Upon A Xmas Song

To kick off this playlist of new favorites and old crap that I made especially for you and aren’t you special, I thought I’d play this one over and over and over again so it gets stuck in your head and you’ll be singing it to yourself in the middle of the night unable to sleep. You’re so welcome. I think there happens to be some gender bending going on here but she’s from the UK and they’re not as hung up about such things as we are in the Great Big South. Outside of Dallas. We have Cedar Springs here so we’re hip.

George S. Irving’s Heat Miser Song

This is a clip from the Rankin and Bass children’s Xmas show “The Year Without a Santa Claus” which was their failed attempt to rekindle the success of past similar efforts like “Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer” “Frosty The Snowman,” and “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town.” This is one of the worst, most uninspired songs from this blatant effort at making money and not really telling an interesting story. However, one man’s trash is another’s treasure. My heart melts at the sight of bad tv from my childhood.

The Killers’ I Feel It In My Bones

This features Ryan Pardey as Santa Claus as a sadistic killer going after anyone who’s been naughty. Deliciously disturbing. You won’t be able to sleep for an hour or two its so scary. Oh who am I kidding? This song could probably put you to sleep.

Lou Monte’s Dominick The Italian Xmas Donkey

Did I already link to this one in a previous installment of my wacky Xmas blog posts? Oh well. You have to listen to it again. It’s good for you. Eat your pasta! You’ll grow up big and strong.

Breathing Places’ Cute Animal Xmas Song

I think back in 2008 the intent of this video was to encourage people to adopt animals during the holiday season, so some british guy sings and they CGI his lips onto all these animals. The end result makes me want to stay further away from animals than I already do. Well anyway, the website it publicizes hasn’t been updated in over a year so I don’t know how successful it was in doing whatever it meant to do. Still funny though.

Doctor Who Confidential’s Have Yourself A Merry Little Xmas

Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill did a lot of little behind the scenes impromptu things during their run on Doctor Who for the accompanying documentary tv series. Here they attempt to sing a song with little to no serious rehearsal, just to have fun and make a little gift for their adoring fans of the show. It’s really bad. It’s atrocious. It’s also heartfelt and fun and heartwarming. Darvill’s piano playing is actually rather excellent compared to Smith’s attempt at singing. Gillan’s got some pipes on her and nice attempts at harmony, but she should have perhaps solo’d this. I’d like to hear her actually belt something out for real.

Bob and Doug Mackenzie Sing 12 Days Of Xmas

I’m gonna end today’s installment of my wacky Zachy Xmas music blog post with a dear personal favorite of mine, sung by Dave Thomas and Rick Moranis of SCTV fame. If you’ll recall, I made a bad joke at Rick Moranis’ expense awhile back, mostly hoping he’d notice it and get mad enough at me to come out of retirement, but so far it hasn’t worked. The idea hasn’t backfired either, and somehow made my life worse, which was my initial fear when I made the joke. In fact absolutely nothing has happened, which is probably the worst thing that could have happened.

The truth is both Moranis and Thomas took two characters that were cheap and not very well defined, and gave them warmth and humor and soul. Both gentlemen put far more heart and joy into these characters then they perhaps deserved on the outset, and that’s what makes Bob and Doug so endearing and enduring all these years later. Laurel and Hardy. Martin and Lewis. Moranis and Thomas. They’re a part of comedic history. I still love them. I only wish they’d been able to do more together. Maybe someday they could. Thomas tried to make a cartoon series out of Bog and Doug a few years ago, which is where this video came from, but Moranis wouldn’t voice his character. I can’t help but imagine how far the animated series might have gone, if Moranis had been able to be more involved creatively and as a performer.

Anyway, Merry Xmas!

