Tags

, , ,

Jaimal Yogis over at The Huffington Post wrote a blog post he called Faith For The Faithless, and I began to compose a comment to that but it got too long, so I put it over here instead.

What if I see the Buddha but he’s not on the road? Do I have to drag Buddha out to the road before I can kill him? What if he struggles? Can I beat him to an inch of his life first so he’ll stop fussing, and then drag him to the road so I can kill him? Doesn’t that seem like too much effort? Can’t we just kill him now? I got a goose in the oven.

Thank you for sharing your subjective perception of reality, Jaimal Yogis. Faith is not for the faithless. I would argue faith is not for anyone. Atheism is not about faith. It’s about doubt. I doubt your faith. I doubt you can prove your outrageous claims, and if even if you can prove them, I still won’t believe them, cuz I don’t believe in faith.

Because I don’t find a need for faith among the faithless, or even the faithful, I take umbrage with the title of this piece, but upon reading what was contained therein, I can appreciate from where Jaimal Yogis is standing, even if I don’t share that perspective.

What solace some seem to find in meditation, and others seem to find in organized religions, I discover in laughter and observing reality as it is for all its grandeur and misery and wonder and absurdity and pain and joy. It’s not simple. It’s not supposed to be. The universe is not supposed to be anything more or less than what it is, and our subjective perception of it will never achieve fullness and total complete understanding. We’ll never really get it. That should never stop us from trying anyway, and perhaps that delicious paradox is what drives me forward.

A wise man once said there’s only one thing in life that is important, but that one thing can differ for each individual. That’s a cheat. You have to find your one thing. Sharing and comparing notes is important, but just cuz meditation worked for one person, that don’t mean it’s right for everybody. Just like laughter doesn’t work for everyone. I heard of a guy once who used laughter as a form of meditation. I might try that one day. Who knows? Might be funny.

Any religion is what one man discovered as his one thing, shared with others who are seeking their one thing, and mistake his one thing for their one thing. Perhaps the only purpose in living this life is discovering what that one thing is for you, and seeking to defend that one thing for the remainder of your days. Trying to convert others to share in your one thing? That’s usually where politics come into play.

But I could be completely wrong. The secret of life may simply be repeatedly putting peanut butter on a dog‘s nose just to watch it lick it off, and maybe no one will ever truly figure that out. I am not recommending this horrendous behavior however, but it’s truly adorable.

I used to end my correspondence with, “may whoever or whatever you believe in, believe in you as well.” However, that was back when I still believed that belief matters. I now find that to be more of a curse than a blessing. Considering some of the gods that have been made up by men, it would be terrible if the god you think is up there was aware that you were down here. It might notice you. It might want to do to you what it did to Eve, or Job, or Tammy Faye Baker, poor thing.

See? It really wasn’t all that long. I don’t know what Huffington Post’s problem with verbosity is all about.

