I had forgotten Klout existed. It’s a website which tries to measure the popularity and knowledge-ability of everyone on Twitter. I guess. I’m not really sure what it’s trying to do which is one of the reasons I don’t use it much, but a friend mentioned it in Twitter so I thought I’d give it another look see. Imagine my surprise to find I have a Klout score of 53 and am knowledgeable in 15 different topics. I don’t know if 53 & 15 is good but..

One of the topics it says I’m knowledgeable about is Newt Gingrich. I crack jokes about Newt, but I don’t know much about him. Apparently Klout is not interested in whether or not the information is accurate, just whether or not you talk about the topic a lot. I didn’t realize I talked about Newt enough to be considered an authority on him. I try to make as many jokes about Barack Obama, Mitt Romney, and Justin Beiber and I get no mention in Klout about any of them.

It appears I influence a lot of people. Not enough people to get a big head about it, but more than I find I’m comfortable with. I want other people to laugh with me. This use of the word “influencer” makes me sound like the next Jim Jones. Perish the thought! Though I do like drinking kool aid. A lot.

